Skip navigation

I absolutely love music.  The only issue is that it can be more than just a little annoying to have to move my library everywhere.  So, I did what any sensible Linux user would do.  I went looking for a music server.  This way, I could play any song I wanted on any computer on my LAN (local area network) without having to have a copy of the file on it.  What I found—was Sockso.

Sockso is a free and open-source personal music server for Windows, Mac, and Linux, but we’re all Linux users here right?  Anyway, to get started, go to their site at http://sockso.pu-gh.com/.  Here, download the Linux server.  You’ll get a .zip file.  Before you go any further, make sure that you have the Java Runtime Environment installed.  If not, get it from your distribution’s repository.

After you unzip the files, go to the sockso-(insert version number here) directory in your Terminal.  You should see a file called linux.sh.  Run chmod +x linux.sh and then run sh linux.sh.  This starts the server.  Go through all of the options and make sure they fit your needs.  Also, specify which directory you’re music is in, using the Collection tab, and make sure that you update the database by clicking Scan Now.  Finally, go to a different computer, and open up whatever the ip address of your server is on your LAN, (if you are unsure, look at your router and find your server’s hostname in the device list) with the port number the server is running on in your web browser.  An example of this would be: 127.0.0.1:4444.  You should be at the web interface, and the rest is self-explanatory.

Now, you may have noticed that I set this up to work on a LAN, not a WAN (wide area network a.k.a. the Internet).  This is because my music is mostly copyrighted and it is illegal to share your copyrighted music over the Internet to people who aren’t paying for it, unless I pay royalty fees for each time a track is played.  While I do understand it is a little more complicated than that, my basic explanation will do.  If you require a login and you disable registering from the web interface,so that only you can listen to and access the files, then I believe you can put the server on the Internet, just don’t take my word for it.  Now, if you want to do it, you can, but I strongly recommend that you keep it on a LAN.  Otherwise, happy listening!

Leave a Reply

